Reblog from my history blog.

History That Interests Me

Interesting article today popped up on Drudge that linked to The Holly Reporter. The article gave information as to how Hollywood helped Hitler and the Nazis after the Nazis rise to power in 1933

The “little story” is how for business purposes Hollywood caved to Nazi pressure to show Nazism (and Germany) in a favorable and sanitized light. Hollywood did so in a weird form of political correctness to make a buck. Nothing surprising about that.

The bigger story in my opinion has to do with the Nazis realizing the power of the medium to sway public opinion one way or the other.

It reminded me of a class I had in High School (1971), the name of which escapes me. Whatever the name of the class I distinctly remember the teacher frequently reminding us that the “medium is the message” a phrase coined by Marshall McLuhan and from…

View original post 554 more words

